Events at Department of Energy Technology

Industrial/PhD Course: DC Microgrids


15.03.2021 kl. 08.30 - 16.03.2021 kl. 16.30



Professor Josep M. Guerrero, Aalborg University, Denmark
Professor Juan C. Vasquez, Aalborg University, Denmark


Professor Josep M. Guerrero, Aalborg University
Associate Professor Sanjay K. Chaudhary, Aalborg University
Assistant Professor Baoze Wei, Aalborg University
Postdoctoral Researcher Mashood Nasir, Aalborg University



DC distribution and transmission systems are a clear trend in electrical networks. The focus of this course is on modeling, control and operation of DC Microgrids, starting with stability and control strategies analyzed in detail, DC droop, virtual impedance concepts and hierarchical control structures for DC microgrids are also introduced. Control of DC-DC and AC-DC converters
oriented as DC Microgrid interfaces are evaluated.
Distributed energy storage systems and mature DC output generation systems including distributed energy storage solutions are presented showing their interaction in DC distribution Microgrids. The course also shows examples of DC microgrids in different applications like telecommunication systems, wind power DC collector grid, residential DC electrical distribution systems and hybrid ACDC microgrids.

  • Day 1: DC Microgrids Introduction, Design and Control: Josep Guerrero (3h), Baoze Wei (2h), Mashood Nasir (1h)
  • Day 2: DC Collector Grids for WPPs and Hierarchical Control of Microgrids: Sanjay Chaudhary(1.5h), Josep Guerrero(1.5h), Baoze Wei (2h), Mashood Nasir (1h)


Knowledge on power electronics modelling, control theory and Matlab/Simulink is recommended for the exercises.

Form of evaluation:

The participants will be grouped and asked to team work on several case study scenarios and tasks proposed along the course. The assessment in this course will be done through a final multi-choice test in combination with delivery of exercises reports.


6000 DKK for PhD students outside of Denmark and 8000 DKK for the Industry.


Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg University


Aalborg University, Pontoppidanstræde 101, room 1.015, 9220 Aalborg East

Registration Deadline

25.01.2021 kl. 23.59

Register at