News from Department of Energy Technology

Prizes awarded by the Energy Sponsor Programme at Graduation 2019

On June 28th the annual Graduation Ceremony was held for the department’s master students graduating from the following five specializations:

  • Power Electronics and Drives
  • Electrical Power Systems and High Voltage Engineering
  • Wind Power Systems
  • Mechatronic Control Engineering
  • Thermal Energy and Process Engineering

The ceremony started with a welcome by Head of Studies Birgitte Bak-Jensen followed by a guest speech by Thomas Schmidt, Founder and Director of Schmidt Innovation ApS (a video of the speech may be found here). After this the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes from the Energy Sponsor Programme were handed out to the project groups demonstrating marvellous academic skills, extraordinary engagement and solid work throughout their work with the master thesis. The prizes were handed out by Lars Helle, Senior Specialist by Vestas. Afterwards, the diplomas were handed to the students by Head of Studies Birgitte Bak-Jensen. The event was concluded with a nice reception.

The prizes went to:

3rd prize of DKK 3.000

Kasper Dalager Vestdam and Rasmus Simonsen Dueholm
MSc in Thermal Energy and Process Engineering

Quote from the evaluation committee

"Kasper and Rasmus worked both experimentally and numerically, and rigorously solved all the problems that emerged, always striving to fully understand the underlying physics and demonstrated highly independent and innovative thinking..."

1 Prize Winner of the Energy Sponsor Prize

Only Rasmus Simonsen Dueholm were present at Graduation. 

2nd prize of DKK 5.000

Frederik Ødum Nielsen, Nikolaj Grønkær and Lasse Nørby Nielsen
MSc in Mechatronic Control Engineering

Quote from the evaluation committee

“Frederik, Nikolaj and Lasse have solved a very complicated and extensive task, which by far exceeds the amount of work that can be expected in a master project, at a very high theoretical and experimental level, while demonstrating a high degree of independence...”

2nd Prize Winners of the Energy Sponsor Prize

1st prize of DKK 10.000

Mads Graungaard Taul
MSc in Power Electronics and Drives

Quote from the evaluation committee

“Mads has managed to prepare a very well-structured high-quality thesis and proposed advanced solutions for grid-forming converters with great outcome, which are drawing large interest from the industry...”

3rd Prize Winner of the Energy Sponsor Prize